Miss Mitzie has domestic chores over the holidays.

3 Jan

We had a wonderful holiday and lots of family and friend time.  Also had a full day of sewing with the Hem-Bots.  You know who you are… Here is what I worked on that day.

Details finished up on New Year’s Day:

Yes, I know the red button is off center.  Whatever…

But it took some time to get moving on the gown.  Here it is:

I have actually cut away a bit more of the back edge, exposing more of the pink underskirt and it looks even better.  Sewing on the little pearly bits is going to be a real pain, but I have a lot of old Stuff You Should Know and Sporkful podcasts lined up so I know I will be entertained and even learn some stuff.  Did you know that totem poles have only been around since the 1700’s?

Here is one of the little design details that is different in my dresses.  I put channels in the under-dress so I can put in a one piece, removable  body shaper.  That way it can be taken out to wash.  Yay!  Some people do wash their gowns, but some makers flatly say “do not wash.”

OK.  So I start with the under dress inside out and make pieces the same shape.  These are about 8″ long:

I made these with the most stretch lengthwise so the straps can’t pull out sideways.  I have no idea if I need to do it that way or not.  Pinned and basted them in:

Serged them in as I serged around the neck line and arm holes.  In some gowns they would go right into the straps, but for this drapey top they are separate.  I put different detachable straps in because I didn’t know which would show up best:

Finished product above.  Oh – and I did a rolled hem edge on the short sides to hold it together and prevent stretch and fray.

Now to order crystals!

Leave a Reply

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Ballroom Dancing, Personal Growth & Healing

A conversation about dance and what it does for dancers

ballroomchick

exploring this darling little gem of a pastime

notquiteold

Gracefully Aging - With Resistance

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Yoga Spy

Observations on yoga culture in North America

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Biggest Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

