Ready to wear? Not for me.

19 Jul

Perfectly good pair of pants bought on clearance now that Zellers is nearly closed.

I have issues with why a pair of casual pants needs two buttons and non functional ties, but we will ignore that for the moment.

Looks more or less ok, but:

There is a good inch here, which I couldn’t photograph too clearly by myself, but trust me, there is very little tension on this waistband.  The nice thing is that it is a wide knit band with an equally wide elastic inside it.  The good news for your intrepid alterationist is that the elastic is not serged in with the knit band.

So I unpicked the stitches to a little wider than the label had been so I could expose the elastic.

Pulled the elastic up at a guesstimated length.  Note the safety pins.  Straight pins work, but for a self-modelling try on, safety pins are, not surprisingly, safer:-)  The fit was great.

Cut through the elastic and trimmed it down to about 1/4″ from the pins, overlapped it and sewed it down.

Yes, I used red marker and red thread.  It will be INSIDE, so it is ok.  Really.  And in the next photo you will see I basted in white and didn’t pull the stitches out afterward.  Pattern Review regulars will recognize a sewing rebel here.

Stitched it all down.  Oh yes,  I just zigzagged the knit together because  I in no way wanted to re-thread the serger for 3 inches of knit that – again – is NOT going to show or unravel.

And now I have pants that fit!  Yay! I had to hem them as well, and although I took care to put good shoes on, I now see the photo doesn’t even show my feet.  But trust me, they are beautifully hemmed.

Fabric Update:

Hard to believe I forgot to add the latest ins and outs in my crazy little fabric universe.  Spandex World was also out of my second choice stretch satin. Grr! So we do the futile look through all the web pages again and find shiny milliskin – a tiny bit heavier than the satin, but with 4 way stretch.  And $9 a yard instead of $10.  I am just crossing my fingers, saying a small prayer and ordering it.  I will let you know after the River City Ball if it is THE right fabric or not.

Leave a Reply

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Ballroom Dancing, Personal Growth & Healing

A conversation about dance and what it does for dancers

ballroomchick

exploring this darling little gem of a pastime

notquiteold

Gracefully Aging - With Resistance

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Yoga Spy

Observations on yoga culture in North America

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Biggest Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

