Getting started

25 Oct

I am using Vogue 2481  for the diagonal ruching on this dress.   http://voguepatterns.mccall.com/v2481-products-5570.php?page_id=316   I used this for my daughter’s wedding dress in 2007 and have always liked the diagonal effect and how the use of it has progressed since then, especially in formal wear.

This is what the front of the original pattern looks like.  The back is similar.  This dress was strapless, lined and in non-stretch fabric, so there will be alterations made to accommodate that.  I have already graded it down quite a lot to get the first muslin that is on Miss Mitzie.  Now I have to decide if I will add straps, sleeves etc.  I am leaning toward some asymmetry and having one arm sleeved and the other uncovered except for the floats.  This means taking my usual bodice pattern, morphing it on to the main dress pattern pieces, then chopping off one arm.  My biggest issue with that right now is that my bodice piece is smaller than the dress piece.  I think I will just add the width and deal with it when we get there if it is too big.

The other gowns have had a waistline seam so the bodice and skirts were separate.  This time I have considered flaring out the bottom of the dress pieces (a LOT!) to see how that works, but I don’t think the fabric is wide enough to do that.  Plus, the drape of the fabric would be tricky, so it will be bodice and skirt separate again.

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

