It is starting to look like a gown

17 Dec

Here it is in the current state.  Work needs to be done on finishing the arm holes, bottom hem of the bodice and the blue skirt needs a rolled hem and the final ruching, but it is getting close to the final look.  Not bad, eh?

We need to go back a step or two, though.

First, here is my amazing hem marking tool.  It is a piece of pool noodle sliced lengthwise, hot glued to a piece of cardboard with my favourite dollar store ruler stuck into it.  I think I sliced into the foam to get it to go in there.  I would love to glue the ruler in there as it does fall out sometimes, but it will be another ruler, not this one.  When I am hemming I put a small sticky note on the ruler (have to tape it on, so any old hunk of paper would do) so I don’t forget and wander to a different mark.  Was that 3 1/2 or 3 1/4?  Yes, it happens!

Here it is with the underskirts finished and the skirt down.  Pretty, but over time, the weight of the lycra (it is pretty heavy duty stuff) made the skirt look really flat.  Here the crin in the hems is making a nice shape, but after a couple of days, it was not so nice.  Plus I want to show that lovely, shiny organza!

Here is one of the early attempts to make a cutaway.  The proportions are getting there, but I think we need to remove more lycra.  The hem on the lycra side is just too blah and the crin is having to work too hard.  Not to mention that I will have to drag that extra weight around the dance floor at full speed!

Et voila!  As soon as I cut above the line of the crin, the whole thing perked up and looked lighter and happier!

Side view!  There will be some tweaking of the pick up and I need to figure out how to decorate it, but it is really looking like what I had imagined it would.  I have a few pearl and sequin appliques that I may try out.  Opinions are welcome:-)

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

