Everyone needs a dress form

3 Jul

A dress form is a fabulous tool and makes ever so many things about sewing garments soooooo much easier.  But the real reason you need one is so you can feel like you really, really know what you are doing in your sewing room. Take a look at this:

Does this person not look like she is a seamstress or maybe even a tailor?  The only thing missing possibly is the wrist pin cushion.  I realized the other day, sitting on my wheely office chair, fitting this cool Latin ballroom gown for Candy that I thought “wow – this feels like photos I’ve seen of actual costume makers!”  Maybe it is also partly because this is the first thing I have made for someone who is not family (well, dance family, of course!) and I am having to think about how it will look on real Candy as opposed to brown paper  Candy Wrapper, how it will fit a moving body, whether she will like it, etc.  Weird and kinda cool:-)

Pinning the skirt.  I am having a heck of a time getting the layers just right so the red underskirt peeks out just enough from the top layer.  This may have to wait until I can pin it on Candy herself.  We are already gearing up to take 2 ballgowns (Standard ones, so B..I..G..) and possibly the sewing machine and maybe the serger(?) on holidays with us. LOL

OK this one is so I have a pictorial record of my cutting table being nearly cleared off. Yes, it does happen!  But you can also see the base of my dress form, which is the wheely part of a thrifted wheely chair plus pvc pipe and cardboard pipe.  There are times when I wish it had brakes, because it rolls away just at the wrong moment and I am glad I made the Candy Wrapper a bit taller than IRL because she is easier to work on that way.  I might alter my own DTD to be taller and just measure appropriately.  I will just pretend “I” am standing on a chair.

Moral of today’s post – get a dress form and feel like a pro.

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

