Let’s call it officially started – Gown #7

12 Jul

Although at the moment, I only know what it won’t be, I have been scrabbling around in my pattern pieces, tracing new ones and even attempting some drawings, which are not horrible.  I will have to thank my daughter for introducing me to playing Draw Something!

I am fascinated by the idea of godets that are gathered at the top like this but my attempt using organza was pretty awful.

Maybe I just put too much fabric into the gather or maybe it needs to be chiffon or ??  But I didn’t like the result much and it was dreadfully difficult to do.  I like the dress to go together quickly so I can spend more time embellishing.:-)

I may have posted this before, but I do like the idea of using thin rolls of fabric (essentially a spaghetti strap) to “draw” patterns on the fabric like this (look at the detail inset on the right) and create defined areas to stone around.

2 Responses to “Let’s call it officially started – Gown #7”

  1. Dale Battison Abeling July 18, 2012 at 6:02 am #

    Found you through Virginia MacDonald – Leah’s mom (I think). Try using a backing of interfacing or other stabilizer behind the chiffon when you stitch and gather. There are lots of different types – I suggest you try the tear-away for this application.

    • bgballroom July 18, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Hi Dale – thanks for the reply. My issue is not so much with the fabric as how to manage the bulk of the gathers at the top of the godet. I suspect I need to treat it more like a tight curve and not so much like a point. It has been pushed to the back of the design queue for this dress, but may come back for a later one. I will keep your idea in mind, though!

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

