Please proceed in an orderly fashion.

14 Aug

It seems I am constantly trying to be more organized, thoughtful and precise about things and sewing is one place where I feel I would be a happier person overall if I could do things step by step and not dive in without looking.  With that in mind, I spent a good part of my day yesterday prepping pattern pieces and sewing samples.

Here is the fabric:

Pardon my bare toes.  I finally figured out that if I want a photo from a bird’s eye view it is easier to put it on the floor than climb up on chairs.  Duh!  Anyway, main fabric on top, organza for crinolines below.  Chiffon not yet sourced.

The pattern pieces don’t show up too well because I make them from clear plastic.  For the blog I should be making them from white plastic.  I used the instructions from Kwik Sew Action Wear to carve a sweetheart neckline out of the top.  First test run:

The back will be scooped out a bit more and of course, the sheer part will be in flesh toned illusion – bodice and sleeves.  Good news – it fits!  I suppose after 6 tries, I should expect it to fit, but since there are always little alterations and changes, I don’t take it for granted that it will work.

Fabric and pattern laid out.  Not much bodice!  Glad there is extra fabric for mistakes and such, but glad there is not quite as much extra as the last time.

2 Responses to “Please proceed in an orderly fashion.”

  1. Blessing Bennett March 6, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    How many yards of fabric did you use for the skirt pieces? I’m working on a pattern for a satin dress and I want this kind of top, but with more fullness than 4 panels will allow.

  2. bgballroom March 6, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    Hmmm…I think it was 6 or 7 yards. I had bought ten for the previous one as it was a minimum order and the fabric was crazy cheap ($3 per yard, I think), so I dialed the quantity back a bit for this one. BUT! I am only 5’2″ so I can get a full skirt length out of a lot less fabric than the typical dancer. It is quite easy to add godets to create more fullness, as well. The top looks nice, but I did not consider the weight of the stones on the sheer illusion and they are weighing it down in a few spots. I need a sewing buddy to help me sort that out or need to make a new duct tape double.

    I am eager to see your new dress. Love your designs:-)

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

