Dancing injury!

31 Oct

I was amused and bemused when my physio told me I was now an “athlete”, but seriously unimpressed to be in the “injured athlete” category.  My hips had been getting tight and we were working on that with yoga, when out of the blue I started getting really sharp zings of pain on the back of my leg.  Did a bit of this and a bit of that and had a couple of incident free practices, but it kept returning, especially in foxtrot.  So a bit more physio and some grueling massage, but still had to drop out of the Northwest Regionals in Seattle this past weekend. 😦

The good news is that it really doesn’t hurt at all unless I hit that exact spot, which we have narrowed down to the natural turn.  Something about the twist of the hips, use of the legs and some muscle imbalances brought on by a lot of years on this body plus the extreme positions the lady has to assume in ballroom just isn’t working.  So we are on a full ten days off practice, extra yoga, extra physio and now chiropractic, as well.

The bad news is that when I tell these wonderful practitioners that our next comp is in two weeks, they laugh.  Loudly!  So far none of them has said I can’t dance.  Cross your fingers for me.

2 Responses to “Dancing injury!”

  1. loveablestef October 31, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    wishing you wellness and a quick recovery! battling my own injuries and it is no fun!

    • bgballroom November 2, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks Stef. Doing a double of physio plus chiro today with the partner coming along to help show the positions to the chiro. it is hard for non-dancers to envision exactly what kind of contortions we put ourselves through! I am constantly thankful that it doesn’t interfere with my day to day living and I can still keep working on my gown:-)

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

