Crisis averted – favourite old machine is okay.

18 May

Freak out!  My favourite old sewing machine started to seize up last night.  It is a department store branded (Eaton Viking for Canadians who remember that brand) machine with a slightly broken Brother  foot pedal and I brag about it all the time because I bought it at a thrift store for $5 and I love it to bits and sew on it ALL the time.   While I do oil my machines and clean out lint etc., I am not fanatical about it and everything seemed just fine … until it wasn’t.

A little troubleshooting led me to believe it was not in the needle area or the long arms in the top of the machine, but in the main make-it-go bit (technical terms) because the needle went up and down beautifully when the belt was disengaged as for bobbin winding.  I removed screws oh, so carefully and had a look.  It all looked lovely and as I remembered from when it was new-to-me and I had given it a once over.  No lint, no damage and nothing appeared broken.  I oiled everything in sight.  Then I had to leave it for the night.

This is about where I had a laugh at myself because I so often recommend these oldies and now I knew I might have to make a big decision.  If I couldn’t get it going, would I pay the $80 or $90 to get it serviced?  The machine means a lot to me and it is completely worth the money, but really, could I defend spending that kind of money on a $5 machine?

Well, this morning I removed a few more screws and found what I believe is an oiling point that is only revealed when the hand wheel is pulled out a bit.  Threw some oil in there and that seemed to help a lot.  And then, since I had found one oddly placed oiling point, I took a good look around all sides of it to see if there were others hidden away.  Sure enough, there was a small opening on the back of the machine that seemed to be asking for oil.

Et voila!  My sweet old machine is purring again.    The really, really interesting part about this story is that I would be willing to bet a pretty penny that neither of these points have ever, EVER been oiled by me and I have been sewing on it since at least 2009.  Amazing!

100_3987

Leave a Reply

...Then Came Dance

Dance is an eternal story. Let us continue to write it.

ROADS TO BLISS

MAPS FOR THE INNER JOURNEY

Five-Minute Yoga

Just another WordPress.com site

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

ballroomchick

exploring life on the dance floor

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

Tracing Real Body Models

An alternative to the stereotypical fashion figure templates

Demoiselle Designs

Well, actually she knits and sews, but the username "demoiselle" was taken.

100patterns

1 novice sewist, 100 Kwik Sew Patterns

Against Line of Dance

Because it turns out that loving to dance matters way more than following the "rules."

thespinningdancer

Just another WordPress.com site

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Stitches and Seams

Just another WordPress.com site

